# NotebookLM pricing in 2026: Gemini Notebook plans and limits

> NotebookLM pricing in 2026: now Gemini Notebook, free with a Google account, or $4.99, $19.99 and $99.99 or more a month via Google AI plans. Checked Oct 18.

- Canonical: https://fluxgravity.io/guides/notebooklm-pricing
- Published: 2026-10-18
- Content type: guide

NotebookLM is now called Gemini Notebook. This guide lists every plan, price and limit from Google's own pages on October 18, 2026, plus other tools for chatting with your files. FluxGravity wrote this page, and its pricing page does not list PDF upload or chat.

![FluxGravity card for a guide to NotebookLM pricing, now Gemini Notebook, with plans, limits and alternatives in 2026.](https://fluxgravity.io/images/editorial/guides-notebooklm-pricing-editorial-map.svg)

*Original page-specific FluxGravity editorial map based on this guide's structure. It is not a product screenshot, account test, or performance result.*

## How much does NotebookLM cost in 2026?

**Answer:** NotebookLM, now called Gemini Notebook, is free to use with a Google account, and higher limits come with Google AI Plus at $4.99 a month, Google AI Pro at $19.99 and Google AI Ultra at $99.99 or $199.99. There is no separate NotebookLM price.

Google renamed NotebookLM to Gemini Notebook in July 2026 and says it is the same product, so every NotebookLM pricing question is now a Gemini Notebook or Google AI plan question. We read Google's US pages on October 18, 2026. They list monthly prices only, so annual prices are not verified.

Paid access comes bundled in Google AI plans, which also include cloud storage and other Gemini features: Plus has 400 GB and Pro has 5 TB. The two Ultra plans cost $99.99 a month for 5x Pro usage and $199.99 a month for 20x. For work or school accounts, Gemini Notebook comes through Google Workspace or Google Cloud, and we did not verify those prices.
- Compare Free, Plus, Pro and Ultra on price, notebooks and sources.
- Learn how compute-based usage limits work and what runs out first.
- See other tools for chatting with your files, and where FluxGravity does and does not fit.

## Is NotebookLM now called Gemini Notebook, and what happened to NotebookLM Plus?

**Answer:** Yes. Google says NotebookLM became Gemini Notebook in July 2026, and its current plan pages list Gemini Notebook inside Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra rather than a separate NotebookLM Plus price.

Google's rename announcement of July 16, 2026 calls Gemini Notebook the same standalone product, now doing more across the Google ecosystem, with notebooks that sync with the Gemini app. Existing notebooks stay accessible. Google's blog says more than 30 million people and over 600,000 organizations use it.

The older NotebookLM Plus name does not appear on the plan pages we read. Those pages show a Standard tier and Gemini Notebook in Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra. If a site still quotes a NotebookLM Plus price, check it against Google's current plans page, because Google began rolling out compute-based limits to consumer accounts on September 2, 2026.
- Same product, new name since July 2026.
- Paid tiers are Google AI plans, not a standalone subscription.
- Search for Gemini Notebook to find Google's current help pages.

## What does each Gemini Notebook plan include?

**Answer:** Free gives standard limits, 100 notebooks and 50 sources per notebook. Plus doubles the usage limits, Pro gives four times and 300 sources per notebook, and the two Ultra plans give 5x or 20x Pro usage with 500 or 600 sources per notebook.

Google's plan table lists notebooks per user as 100 on Free, 200 on Plus and 500 on Pro and Ultra. Sources per notebook are 50 on Free, 100 on Plus, 300 on Pro, 500 on the $99.99 Ultra plan and 600 on the $199.99 Ultra plan. Google describes model access as access on Free and Plus, higher on Pro and highest on Ultra, with early access to key features on Plus and priority access on Pro and Ultra. Google's help table labels the two Ultra columns by storage, 20 TB and 30 TB, and we matched them to the $99.99 and $199.99 plans through Google's storage tiers.

Advanced sharing is for paid users, while custom chat and analytics are available to everyone. Some features are Ultra only: co-creating slide decks with an outline review and co-creating Video Overviews with producer notes. Google's July 16, 2026 announcement said code execution in notebooks was available to Google AI Ultra and certain Workspace customers and would reach Pro users over the coming weeks.
- Free: standard limits, 100 notebooks, 50 sources per notebook.
- Plus and Pro: 2x and 4x the standard limits, 100 and 300 sources per notebook.
- Ultra: 5x or 20x Pro usage, 500 or 600 sources per notebook.

## How do Gemini Notebook usage limits work, and what runs out first?

**Answer:** Usage limits are compute-based: your quota refreshes every 5 hours until you reach a weekly limit, and Gemini Notebook shows an expected cost bar before you generate in the Studio panel.

Google says the limits factor in prompt complexity, chat length, the number of sources and the features you use, and that limits may change. Free is standard, Plus is two times higher, Pro is four times higher, and Ultra is 5x or 20x higher than Pro. Google began rolling this model out to consumer accounts on September 2, 2026, replacing daily limits.

Gemini Notebook shows your remaining usage in chat and an expected cost bar before you generate in the Studio panel. If you run out, you can wait for the 5-hour refresh, upgrade, or choose Generate later on the web, which can take a couple of hours. Reports, flashcards, slide decks and other artifacts that appear automatically when sources are first added do not count toward limits.

Work and school accounts are different. Google's Workspace table uses daily quotas by access level, such as 50 chats a day and 3 Audio Overviews a day at standard access.
- Quota refresh: every 5 hours, up to a weekly cap.
- Before you generate: check the expected cost bar in the Studio panel.
- Out of quota: wait, upgrade or choose Generate later.

## Is NotebookLM free to use, and what are the Free plan's limits?

**Answer:** Yes. The free Standard tier needs only a Google account and gives standard compute-based limits, 100 notebooks per user and 50 sources per notebook, but it adds visible watermarks to generated images and videos and has no advanced sharing.

A source can hold up to 500,000 words or 200 MB for an uploaded file, and Free users can add up to 50 sources per notebook. Supported sources include PDFs, Word, PowerPoint, text, Markdown, CSV and ePub files, Google Docs and Slides (up to 100 slides), Sheets (limited to 100k tokens), images, audio, web pages, public YouTube videos with captions and Play Books titles.

Some limits catch people out. Web imports take only the text of a page, and paywalled pages are not supported. YouTube imports need captions. Chat answers use only your sources, so creative requests such as rewriting a story may be refused. Google says deleted notes cannot be recovered. Google lets AI Pro and Ultra subscribers switch the visible watermark off outside India, South Korea and Vietnam, and its plan table lists watermark removal as not available on Free and Plus.
- Per source: up to 500,000 words or 200 MB.
- Free sources: up to 50 per notebook.
- Deleted notes cannot be recovered.

## Does Google AI Pro (Gemini Pro) include NotebookLM?

**Answer:** Yes. Google AI Pro, $19.99 a month, includes Gemini Notebook with four times the standard usage limits, up to 300 sources per notebook and up to 500 notebooks, and Gemini Notebook is also free without a plan.

Gemini Pro can mean the Google AI Pro plan or the Pro model in the Gemini app. The Google AI Pro plan includes Gemini Notebook, 5 TB of storage and the Gemini app with the Pro model. Google's plan pages tie the higher Gemini Notebook limits to the Google AI plan.

Eligible US college students can get one year of Google AI Pro free, which Google values at $19.99 a month and says provides 4x higher usage limits. Outside the US, Google offers eligible students one year of Google AI Plus. Check Google's student page for the terms, because we did not read the offer's deadline.
- Google AI Pro: $19.99 a month with 4x standard limits.
- Free tier still available without any plan.
- Student offers: one year of Pro (US) or Plus (elsewhere).

## What are the hidden costs and catches?

**Answer:** The main catches are that paid access is a bundle you buy for the whole Google AI plan, limits can change, plans are limited to some regions, some features are 18+ or Ultra only, and generated slides, audio and video can be inaccurate.

Google AI plans are only available in specific regions, and the Gemini Notebook limits page says access and limits may change. The plan price covers storage and other Gemini features, so judge it as a bundle rather than a Gemini Notebook price. Google says it will not claim ownership of content you generate in Gemini Notebook, and it does not use your content for model training unless you share feedback.

Several outputs have conditions. Slide Decks are available only to users over 18, Cinematic Video Overviews are English only and for ages 18 and over, and Video Overviews can take more than 30 minutes. Google warns that slide decks, audio and video are AI-generated and may contain inaccuracies. Public sharing is only for consumer accounts, not Workspace Enterprise or Education.
- Paid access is a Google AI plan bundle, not a standalone price.
- Limits and access can change; plans depend on region.
- Check generated slides, audio and video for errors.

## Which plan should you choose?

**Answer:** Start free, move to Google AI Plus if you hit limits occasionally, choose Google AI Pro for daily research or large notebooks, and consider Ultra only for the heaviest generation work or co-created decks and videos.

If you only ask questions about a few documents, the free tier's 50 sources per notebook and standard limits may be enough. If you keep reaching the quota between 5-hour refreshes, Plus is a $4.99 step, and Pro at $19.99 raises usage to four times standard with 300 sources per notebook. Ultra starts at $99.99 and adds the outline and producer-notes co-creation for decks and videos.

If you are a US college student, Google's offer of one year of Google AI Pro is worth checking before you pay. If you use a work or school account, ask your administrator which Workspace edition you have, because Workspace access levels and daily quotas are set by the edition.
- Occasional use: Free.
- Regular limit hits: Google AI Plus, then Pro.
- Heavy generation or co-creation: Ultra.

## How do you prompt it, and is it good for studying?

**Answer:** Ask specific questions, name your sources, and set the chat style, because answers use only your sources and come with inline citations you can check; Google's plans page calls flashcards and Audio Overviews study aids, and we did not test them.

Google's own advice is to ask focused questions: when a notebook has many sources, mentioning source names helps Gemini Notebook narrow its search, and unclear phrasing can lead to a refusal. In Configure Chat you can pick Default, Learning Guide or Custom, and a response length. Hover over a citation to see the quoted text, or select it to jump to the passage.

Our untested examples, written from that guidance: "What are the key findings about X in the 'Paper A' document?", "List the claims in these three sources that disagree, with citations", "Quiz me on chapter 4 using only the lecture notes", "Summarize the methods in 'Paper B' in plain English and note any limitations the authors state". Google's plans page lists flashcards and Audio Overviews as study aids, but check any output against your sources.
- Name the source and the question, not just "summarize".
- Use Learning Guide or Custom chat for study sessions.
- Open the citations to verify each claim.

## What do other tools cost, and where does FluxGravity fit?

**Answer:** Gemini Notebook is the right tool when you want answers from your own sources with citations. ChatGPT, Claude, ChatPDF, Humata and AskYourPDF also let you chat with uploaded files, while FluxGravity's pricing page does not list PDF upload or chat and fits a different job: turning a brief into finished documents and decks.

The comparison table lists plan prices and file limits side by side as plain facts from each vendor's official pages. Prices are not directly comparable, because each tool limits usage differently, by compute, messages, pages or credits. ChatGPT and Claude are general assistants that can use files. ChatPDF, Humata and AskYourPDF are built around documents.

FluxGravity wrote this page. FluxGravity is an AI workspace and agent that turns a brief into finished work such as documents, PDFs, slide decks, spreadsheets and videos. PDF upload and reading are not verified for FluxGravity, so this guide does not recommend it for asking questions about your own files. Its fit is the step after you know what you want to say: writing a brief and having it produce a document or deck, within page limits of 3, 10, 15 and 30 for documents and PDFs and slide limits of 8, 25, 60 and 120 by plan.
- Questions about your own files: Gemini Notebook, ChatGPT, Claude, ChatPDF, Humata, AskYourPDF.
- Briefs turned into documents and decks: FluxGravity (PDF upload not verified).
- Compare file limits as well as price.

## NotebookLM (Gemini Notebook) plans and US prices, checked October 18, 2026

US dollars before tax, from Google's Google AI plans, Gemini subscriptions and Gemini Notebook help pages, read on October 18, 2026. Google's pages list monthly prices only, so annual prices are not verified. "Not verified" means the official page did not state it. Paid tiers are Google AI plans and include other features such as storage. The two Ultra source counts are matched to prices through Google's storage tiers.

| Plan | Monthly price | Annual price | Usage limits | Notebooks per user | Sources per notebook | Other documented differences |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Free (Gemini Notebook standard) | $0 with a Google account | Not applicable | Standard limits | 100 | 50 | Advanced sharing is for paid users; no visible-watermark control |
| Google AI Plus | $4.99 | Not verified | 2x standard | 200 | 100 | Early access to key features; 400 GB storage |
| Google AI Pro | $19.99 | Not verified | 4x standard | 500 | 300 | Priority access; watermark control outside India, South Korea and Vietnam; 5 TB storage |
| Google AI Ultra (5x) | $99.99 | Not verified | 5x Pro | 500 | 500 | Co-create decks and videos; 20 TB storage |
| Google AI Ultra (20x) | $199.99 | Not verified | 20x Pro | 500 | 600 | Highest model access; 30 TB storage |
| Workspace or Google Cloud | Not verified | Not verified | Set by edition or add-on | 100 to 500 | 50 to 600 | Admin-managed; data not used to train models |

Related references:
- [Google AI plans](https://one.google.com/about/google-ai-plans/)
- [Gemini subscriptions](https://gemini.google/subscriptions/)
- [Gemini Notebook plans (help)](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16213268)

## Daily quotas for work and school accounts by access level

From Google's help article on using Gemini Notebook with a work or school account, read on October 18, 2026. These quotas apply to Workspace access levels, not to personal Google AI plans, which use compute-based limits. Quotas are subject to change.

| Quota | Standard | More | Higher | Expanded | Highest |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Chats a day | 50 | 200 | 500 | 1,000 | 5,000 |
| Audio Overviews a day | 3 | 6 | 20 | 40 | 200 |
| Video Overviews a day | 3 | 6 | 20 | 40 | 200 |
| Reports, flashcards, quizzes, mind maps a day | 10 | 20 | 100 | 200 | 1,000 |
| Deep Research | 10 a month | 3 a day | 20 a day | 30 a day | 200 a day |
| Sources per notebook | 50 | 100 | 300 | 400 | 600 |

Related references:
- [Gemini Notebook with a work or school account](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16337734)

## What you can add as a source, and the limits

From Google's help article on adding sources, read on October 18, 2026. Limits may change.

| Source type | Limit or note |
| --- | --- |
| Uploaded files (PDF, Word, PowerPoint, text, Markdown, CSV, ePub) | Up to 500,000 words or 200 MB per source |
| Google Docs and Google Slides | Slides up to 100 slides; Drive imports sync every few minutes |
| Google Sheets | Limited to 100k tokens |
| Web URLs | Text only; paywalled pages are not supported |
| YouTube URLs | Public videos with captions; the transcript is imported |
| Audio files | Transcribed on import; files with no speech are not supported |
| Images and Play Books | Images in common formats; eligible Play Books ebooks, text only |

Related references:
- [Add or discover sources](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16215270)

## Gemini Notebook, ChatGPT, Claude, ChatPDF, Humata, AskYourPDF and FluxGravity side by side

US dollars from each vendor's own pages, read on October 18, 2026, before tax, in the order Gemini Notebook first as the subject of this guide, then alphabetical. "Not verified" means the official page did not state it. Usage is limited in different units, so prices are not a ranking. FluxGravity publishes this page, and its pricing page does not list PDF upload or chat.

| Tool | Free plan | Entry paid plan | File or document limits stated | Built for |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Gemini Notebook (formerly NotebookLM) | Free: standard limits, 50 sources per notebook | Google AI Plus: $4.99 a month | Up to 500,000 words or 200 MB per source | Answers from your own sources, with citations |
| AskYourPDF | Free: $0, 100 pages per document, 1 document a day | Premium: $14.99 monthly or $11.99 a month billed yearly | Premium 2,500 pages per document; Pro 6,000 pages | Chatting with documents |
| ChatGPT | Free: $0, 3 file uploads a day | Go: $8 a month (may include ads); Plus: $20 | 512 MB per file; 2 million tokens per text file; 25 files per project on Go and Plus | General assistant that can use files |
| ChatPDF | Free: 2 documents a day | Plus: $14.99 monthly or $7.58 a month billed yearly | 2,000 pages per PDF; 50 PDFs per folder | Chatting with PDFs |
| Claude | Free: $0, up to 5 projects | Pro: $20 monthly or $17 a month billed annually | 500 MB and 20 files per chat; PDFs up to 1,000 pages | General assistant that can use files |
| FluxGravity (publisher of this page) | Free: $0, 100 credits once | Spark: $5 monthly or $4 a month billed annually | PDF upload and reading: not verified; document and PDF page limits 3, 10, 15, 30; slide limits 8, 25, 60, 120 | Turning a brief into documents and decks |
| Humata | Free: $0, 60 pages | Expert: $9.99 a month | 500 pages a month on Expert; $0.02 per extra page | Chatting with documents |

Related references:
- [Google AI plans](https://one.google.com/about/google-ai-plans/)
- [AskYourPDF pricing](https://askyourpdf.com/pricing)
- [ChatGPT pricing](https://chatgpt.com/pricing)
- [ChatGPT file uploads](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/8555545-file-uploads-faq)
- [ChatPDF](https://www.chatpdf.com/)
- [Claude pricing](https://claude.com/pricing)
- [Claude file limits](https://support.claude.com/en/articles/8241126-uploading-files-to-claude)
- [FluxGravity pricing](https://fluxgravity.io/pricing)
- [Humata pricing](https://www.humata.ai/pricing)

## Frequently asked questions

### Does Gemini Pro include NotebookLM?

Yes, if you mean the Google AI Pro plan. It costs $19.99 a month and includes Gemini Notebook, the new name for NotebookLM, with four times the standard usage limits, up to 300 sources per notebook and 500 notebooks. Gemini Notebook also has a free tier, so you do not need a plan to use it.

### Can you provide a prompt guide for NotebookLM?

Ask specific questions and name your sources, because Google says that helps Gemini Notebook narrow its search. Pick Default, Learning Guide or Custom in Configure Chat, and open the citations to verify claims. Examples we wrote from that guidance, untested: "What are the key findings about X in the 'Paper A' document?" and "List where these three sources disagree, with citations."

### Is NotebookLM good for studying?

Google positions it for learning and lists flashcards, quizzes, mind maps, Audio Overviews and Video Overviews, plus a Learning Guide chat style. Answers use only your sources and come with inline citations. We did not test it, and Google warns that generated slides, audio and video can contain inaccuracies, so check them against your notes.

### How much does NotebookLM Plus cost?

There is no separate NotebookLM Plus price on Google's current plan pages. Gemini Notebook is free, and higher limits come with Google AI Plus at $4.99 a month, Google AI Pro at $19.99, and Google AI Ultra at $99.99 or $199.99. Google AI Plus is a different product from the older NotebookLM Plus tier name.

### Is NotebookLM free to use?

Yes. Gemini Notebook is free with a Google account, with standard usage limits, 100 notebooks per user and 50 sources per notebook. A visible watermark is added to generated images and videos on the free tier. Paid tiers raise limits through Google AI plans.

### Is NotebookLM the same as Gemini Notebook?

Yes. Google says NotebookLM became Gemini Notebook in July 2026 and is the same product, and all existing notebooks remain accessible. Google's announcement is dated July 16, 2026.

### How many sources can I add to a notebook?

Up to 50 on the free tier, 100 on Google AI Plus, 300 on Google AI Pro, and 500 or 600 on the two Ultra plans. Each source can hold up to 500,000 words or 200 MB for an uploaded file.

### Does Gemini Notebook train on my data?

Google says it does not use your content in Gemini Notebook to train its models unless you share feedback. For Workspace users, uploads, queries and responses are not used to train models even if you submit feedback. Google also says deleted notes cannot be recovered.

### Can Gemini Notebook export slides to PowerPoint?

Yes. Google's help center says you can download a generated Slide Deck as a PDF or as a PowerPoint (.pptx) file. Slide Decks are available only to users over 18, and Google warns they may contain visual or factual inaccuracies.

### What are some NotebookLM alternatives that work offline?

Gemini Notebook, ChatGPT, Claude, ChatPDF, Humata and AskYourPDF are cloud services. For offline use, GPT4All says its chatbot runs on your device with no cloud required and offers local document chat, and AnythingLLM says it runs entirely on your computer and is free to download. See our NotebookLM alternatives page for a fuller comparison.

### Is FluxGravity a NotebookLM alternative?

Not for the same job. FluxGravity is an AI workspace that turns a brief into finished documents, slide decks, spreadsheets and videos, and PDF upload and reading are not verified. Use Gemini Notebook for questions about your own sources. FluxGravity wrote this guide.

### How was this guide researched?

We read Google's Gemini Notebook site, help center, plan pages and blog posts, each competitor's pricing and file-limit pages, and FluxGravity's pricing page on October 18, 2026. We did not run any tool, so the guide makes no claim about quality. Where a page did not state a number, we wrote not verified.

## Sources
- [Gemini Notebook home (NotebookLM)](https://notebook.google/)
- [Gemini Notebook plans](https://notebook.google/plans)
- [Gemini Notebook Help: plans](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16213268)
- [Gemini Notebook Help: usage limits](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/17670842)
- [Gemini Notebook Help: work or school accounts](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16337734)
- [Gemini Notebook Help: about](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16164461)
- [Gemini Notebook Help: sources](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16215270)
- [Gemini Notebook Help: Slide Decks](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16757456)
- [Gemini Notebook Help: Video Overviews](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16454555)
- [Gemini Notebook Help: chat](https://support.google.com/gemininotebook/answer/16179559)
- [Google blog: NotebookLM is now Gemini Notebook](https://blog.google/innovation-and-ai/products/gemini-notebook/notebooklm-gemini-notebook/)
- [Google blog: flexible usage limits](https://blog.google/innovation-and-ai/products/gemini-notebook/new-flexible-usage-limits/)
- [Google blog: student offer](https://blog.google/innovation-and-ai/products/gemini-app/student-offer-google-ai/)
- [Google One: Google AI plans](https://one.google.com/about/google-ai-plans/)
- [Gemini subscriptions](https://gemini.google/subscriptions/)
- [ChatGPT pricing](https://chatgpt.com/pricing)
- [OpenAI Help: file uploads](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/8555545-file-uploads-faq)
- [ChatGPT with PDFs](https://chatgpt.com/use-cases/chat-with-pdfs/)
- [Claude pricing](https://claude.com/pricing)
- [Claude Help: upload files](https://support.claude.com/en/articles/8241126-uploading-files-to-claude)
- [ChatPDF](https://www.chatpdf.com/)
- [Humata pricing](https://www.humata.ai/pricing)
- [AskYourPDF pricing](https://askyourpdf.com/pricing)
- [GPT4All (Nomic)](https://www.nomic.ai/gpt4all)
- [AnythingLLM](https://anythingllm.com/)
- [FluxGravity pricing](https://fluxgravity.io/pricing)

## Related pages
- https://fluxgravity.io/alternatives/notebooklm
- https://fluxgravity.io/ai-document-generator
- https://fluxgravity.io/ai-report-generator
- https://fluxgravity.io/pricing

## Try FluxGravity

Give FluxGravity one goal and receive finished work.

https://app.fluxgravity.io/
